Pinky Promise

Take me to your heart take me to your soul…

The lyrics blasted from Samar’s phone, nearly after three years. He didn’t notice his phone ringing over the chaos his friends were creating. His parents were away on a vacation and naturally, he invited his entire group for a night stay.

1
via shutterstock.com

“Samar your phone!”

“Huh what?”

“Your phone, Hon”, Nikita, his girlfriend slid his cell over to him.

“Thanks babe! Don’t know what I would ever do without you”

Samar walked into his parents bedroom which was out of bounds for his friends. The call had already disconnected. As soon as he locked the door behind him, it rang again…

Take me to your heart take me to your soul …Give me your hand before I’m old

All the clouds of intoxication from the three bottles of beer and a couple of cigarettes (probably 10) vanished in the blink of an eye as he stared dumbfounded at the number flashing on his screen.

Show me what love is – haven’t got a clue/ Show me that wonders can be true

His thumb trembled over the accept button. Probably his lips quivered too.

pexels-photo (1)
via unsplash.com

They say nothing lasts forever

We’re only here today

Love is now or never

It was an unsaved number on his phone but was permanently imprinted on his memory. No amount of beer could blur it, ever!

“Heyyyy teddy”, the familiar voice soothed Samar’s ears.

“You are drunk!”

“No shit.. Sherlock”

“Why are you calling?”

“No hellooooo no how doo yaa do? That’s meanieee Sammy”

“Gawd you are really drunk aren’t you?”

“Yepp. Otherwise why will I call you?”

“Where are you? I’m rather busy.”

“Somewhere on earthieee.. Yeah busy with your new friends and yeah, your latest baabbyyyy.”

“Well you got at least one thing tucked off your bucket list”

“You remember?”

“I remember everything Rosy”

“You don’t remember today, do you teddy?”

With that Samar heard the ruckus of his friends again.

The date calendar on his father’s study table showed 25th September and Samar instantly travelled back in time through years of togetherness and seperation. -1, -2, -3, -4, -5…

pexels-photo
via pexels.com

“How on earth will I understand what’s wrong if you refuse to speak to me?”, Samar calmly asked Rosy.

“You don’t have to. Why do you care?”

“Just let me sit, Okay?”

“No this is my bench!”

“Stop being childish. That’s my job!”

“Go away. Go sit by your Udipti”

” What do mean by ‘your’?”

“Oh! I don’t know. You tell me!”

“Gawd she is crushing on me. Not the other way round.”

“Yeah and I eat grass”

“Seriously why do you even care about these stupid things?”

“I don’t care. I simply don’t!”

“Yeah and I eat grass too.”

Samar physically pushed her to make place for himself. When the continuous bugging even through chemistry class didn’t derive any reaction from her, he knew she was really upset. Chemistry was her least favourite class she would absolutely do anything to escape or atleast be distracted. Samar resorted to the last measure, namely, texting her upon reaching home.

instagram-girls
via time.com

‘Please rosy what’s wrong? Please tell me. U know I hate it when u r upset’

‘It’s nothing teddy. I’m just being extremely silly and stupid’

‘Well you can’t help being silly and stupid, that’s your innate nature lol. But what brought out the wrath of titan on me today at school?’

‘Pihu told me you crossed roads holding Udipti’s hand day before yesterday’

‘So?’

‘I don’t know okay? I feel like it’s only my hand you should ever hold. I knw it’s stupid’

‘You are jealous?’

‘Yes’

‘Why?’

‘Because I love you. Okay? There. I said it. Go on and make fun of me. Don’t talk to me. Break our friendship. Whatever!’

‘I love you too Rosy’

‘Seriously? Pinky promise?’

‘Yes. Pinky promise. So are we going to celebrate our anniversary every year on this day?’

‘Hehehe. Yeah I guess. 25th September it is!’

The phone had hunged up by the time he returned to reality. As Samar walked back to his friends, ‘Lips of angle’ came on radio. He looked at Nikita and then glanced back at his phone. “How apt!” mused Samar.

winephoto
via nsasd.org

“Well, my girl’s in the next room

Sometimes I wish she was you

I guess we never really moved on

It’s really good to hear your voice saying my name

It sounds so sweet

Coming from the lips of an angel

Hearing those words it makes me weak…

And I never wanna say goodbye

But girl you make it hard to be faithful

With the lips of an angel…

It’s funny that you’re calling me tonight

And, yes, I’ve dreamt of you too

And does he know you’re talking to me

Will it start a fight?

No I don’t think she has a clue”

 

Ranita Ray
                               Ranita Ray

follow-fb

Featured photo via pixabay.com

1 thought on “Pinky Promise

  1. A simpler approach. Well done! However the author should consider stop painting the male characters in her stories so badly, I almost feel bad for myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close